Vera esta pagina en Espanol
Vera esta pagina en Espanol

Our Staff and Board

To contact staff or Board members, please email [email protected].


Nasrullah Amirzai, IT/Web and System Administrator

Jessica Barrera, Digital Publishing Associate

Dani Behonick, Digital & Updates Editor

Michael Birnbach, Customer Relationship Coordinator

Kate Bobrow-Strain, Director of Finance & Administration

Jenny Chung, Staff Accountant

Alicia Flores, Bilingual Editor

Jade Fong, Development Coordinator

Rosemary Jason, Publications Designer

Tawnia Litwin, Director of Digital Projects

Aditi Malhotra, Writer/Researcher

Kimi Owens, Marketing & Communications Director

Shawn Phillips, Fulfillment & Building Coordinator

Maile Robles, Executive Assistant

Sarah Shannon, Executive Director

Keziah Sullivan, Development Director

Kathleen Tandy, Publications Designer

Vanessa Tran, Communications and Outreach Coordinator

Paula Worby, Editor, Writer/ Researcher



Trupthi Basavaraj, MPH
Independent Consultant, Organization Development Specialist

Garrett Brown, MPH, CIH, Secretary
Coordinator of the Maquiladora Health & Safety Support Network; retired Compliance Safety and Health Officer, Cal/OSHA

Pauline Butcher
Board Member Emeritus

Eva Harris, PhD
Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases and Vaccinology, UC Berkeley; Co-founder and Board President, Sustainable Sciences Institute

Leigh Haynes, JD, LLM, MPH
Lawyer with an expertise in human rights and international law; Adjunct Professor, Simmons University; Executive Committee Chair, Framework Convention on Global Health Alliance; Co-Program Chair, Law Section of APHA.

Samantha Heep, JD, Treasurer
Background in business law and finance having worked as a financial analyst at Goldman Sachs, and attorney at Donahue Fitzgerald LLP.

Sarah Jane Holcombe, PhD
Senior Learning Advisor, Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University.

Larry Kressley, Board Member Emeritus 
Former Executive Director, the Public Welfare Foundation

Bill Lankford, PhD, Co-Chair
Founder, The Central American Solar Energy Project (CASEP)

Grace Maher
Associate with the Civil Registration and Vital Statistics Program at Vital Strategies; background in small-scale development work in Papua New Guinea

Aditi Malhotra
Staff Representative to the Board

Purnima Mane
Internationally recognized expert on gender and sexual and reproductive health including HIV/AIDS, who has worked in senior positions in both the United Nations (including with UNFPA, UNAIDS, and WHO) and non-profit organizations

Oladele A. Ogunseitan, PhD, MPH
University of California Presidential Chair and Professor of Population Health and Disease Prevention, UC Irvine

Sarah Shannon (ex officio)
Hesperian Health Guides, Executive Director

Lucia Sayre
Director of Regional Innovation and Community Resilience, Healthy Food in Health Care Program of Healthcare without Harm

Melissa Smith, MD
Associate Director, Center for Gender and Health Justice, University Global Health Institute

Linda Spangler, MD, Board Member Emeritus
Physician, Adult Primary Care, Alameda County Medical Center; Medical Director, Options Recovery Services.

Keziah Sullivan
Staff Representative to the Board

Susan Weissert, Co-Chair
Former AIDS Taskforce Coordinator, Maryknoll Office for Global Concerns

Ellen Vor der Brugge, Board Member Emeritus
Long-time trainer of health educators and former Senior Vice President of the Freedom from Hunger Foundation

Prentice Zinn
Director, GMA Foundations